When the Sun Comes Out (instrumental parts)

When the Sun Comes Out (instrumental parts)
view sample page

from $37.50

  • AvP Number : 187
  • Composer : Leslie Uyeda
  • Canadian : Yes
  • Instrumentation : flute, clarinet, violin, cello and piano
  • Format : 5 parts
  • Difficulty : difficult
  • Duration : 90:00
  • Pages (print) : 250
  • Pages (download) : 246

These are the instrumental parts for the orchestrated version of the chamber opera When the Sun Comes Out, composed by Leslie Uyeda with libretto by Rachel Rose. Set in an imaginary country called Fundamentalia, a country where violation of gender roles is punishable by death, the opera tells the story of a love affair between two women, Lilah – a wealthy married mother, and Solana – a gender outlaw and rebellious outsider. When their affair is discovered by Lilah’s husband, Javan, he begins to reveal his own, hidden love for a man.

The full score is published separately. A piano/vocal score is also available. Arias extracted from the opera are published as Solana’s Song, Javan’s Lament and Three Arias.